Getting injured on the job can result in severe injury and an overwhelming amount of stress. If you were hurt, do not wait to reach out to our skilled Tennessee workers’ compensation attorneys today to discuss the specifics of your case and your options.
What is the process for filing a workers’ compensation claim in Tennessee?
If you were injured on the job and would like to pursue legal action, there are several steps that you will need to take. The process for filing a workers’ compensation claim in the state of Tennessee includes the following steps:
- After you were injured on the job, the first thing you will want to do is document the incident. This can include taking pictures and videos of the scene of the accident, gathering contact information or statements from any witnesses, seeking medical attention to ensure your injuries are properly treated, and making sure that your employer or supervisor is immediately notified. It is essential to note that if you wait longer than 30 days to notify your employer of your injury, you will be banned from seeking compensation.
- Once you have timely notified your employer or supervisor, he or she should fill out and submit the Tennessee Employer’s First Report of Work Injury or Illness form, Form C-20. It is important to note that even if your employer opposes your claim, he or she is still obligated to complete and submit this form within one day of your reporting your injury.
- After that, your employer’s insurance carrier is required to either confirm or deny your workers’ compensation claim within 15 days. If your claim is denied, it is critical that you retain the services of a skilled Tennesee workers’ compensation appeals lawyer who can work to prove that you rightfully qualify for workers’ compensation benefits. Our legal team is dedicated to protecting you and your rights. Contact us today.
What is the statute of limitations in Tennessee?
Just like with all other personal injury claims, workers’ compensation claims have a statute of limitations too. The statute of limitations for workers’ compensation claims in Tennessee in most cases is one year. This means that if you fail to bring your claim within one year of your accident, you will lose the opportunity to file entirely. Do not wait to reach out to our firm today to begin the claims process. We are ready to help.
CONTACT OUR EXPERIENCED TENNESSEE FIRM
If you need a Knoxville workers’ compensation lawyer or employment law attorney, Morris & Doolan is here to support you. Our firm has significant experience representing clients facing a wide range of workers’ compensation matters, including denial of benefits, appeals, and third-party lawsuits. If you need a Tennessee employment lawyer, we are experienced in handling matters ranging from discrimination and sexual harassment to wrongful termination and FMLA. Contact us today to learn more about our services.