Hardly anything can be more stressful than getting injured on the job. Not only are you facing severe physical and emotional burdens from your injuries, but you are also unable to work until you heal. If you are in this unfortunate situation, you may want to consider your legal options. Reach out to our firm today to speak with an experienced Knoxville workers’ compensation attorney today.
What steps should I take when filing a workers’ compensation claim in Tennessee?
An injury on the job may prompt you to file for workers’ compensation benefits. It is critical to understand the process of filing to ensure there are no errors made along the way. The process for filing a workers’ compensation claim in the state of Tennessee involves the following steps:
- The first thing you will want to do after a workplace injury is document the incident. This can involve taking pictures and videos of the scene of the accident, collecting contact information or comments from any witnesses, seeking medical attention to confirm your injuries are adequately treated, and making sure that your employer or supervisor is instantly informed of the accident. It is important to note that if you wait longer than 30 days to inform your employer of your injury, you will be barred from obtaining the compensation you need to heal.
- After you have punctually informed your employer or supervisor, he or she should fill out and submit the Tennessee Employer’s First Report of Work Injury or Illness form, Form C-20. It is essential to note that even if your employer objects to your claim, he or she is still bound to complete and submit this form within one day of your reporting your injury.
- Next, your employer’s insurance carrier is mandated to either confirm or deny your workers’ compensation claim within 15 days. If your claim is denied, it is crucial that you hire the services of a skilled Tennesee workers’ compensation appeals lawyer who can perform to verify that you rightfully qualify for workers’ compensation benefits. Our legal team is committed to defending you and your rights. Give us a call today to get started.
What is Tennessee’s statute of limitations?
Workers’ compensation claims have a statute of limitations like all other personal injury claims. The statute of limitations for workers’ compensation claims in Tennessee in most cases is one year. This means that if you do not bring your claim within one year of your accident, you will lose the opportunity to file altogether. It is in your best interest to reach out to our firm today to start the claims process. Our firm is on your side.
CONTACT OUR EXPERIENCED TENNESSEE FIRM
If you need a Knoxville workers’ compensation lawyer or employment law attorney, Morris & Doolan is here to support you. Our firm has significant experience representing clients facing a wide range of workers’ compensation matters, including denial of benefits, appeals, and third-party lawsuits. If you need a Tennessee employment lawyer, we are experienced in handling matters ranging from discrimination and sexual harassment to wrongful termination and FMLA. Contact us today to learn more about our services.